Trust and Governance
governors_01.jpg

Makerfield Academy Trust Governance Structure

Members

Board of Directors/Trustees

Byrchall High School

Local Governing Board

From September 1st 2012 Byrchall High School became a converter Academy. It is a charitable company limited by guarantee, registered at Companies House (Company 8175642). An Academy is a publicly funded independent local school.

The Governors believe the allowed freedoms of changing to Academy status and the additional funding will enable the school to provide the best education that ensures the young people are fulfilled academically, socially and make a positive contribution to their community. A link to the Makerfield Academy Trust Website can be found here

Article 12

The Members of the Academy Trust shall comprise:

  1. up to 2 persons to be appointed by the Foundation

  2. up to 2 persons to appointed by the Makerfield Community Trust

  3. 1 person to be appointed by the Members, appointed under clause 12a and 12b

  4. any person appointed under Article 15A

Board of Directors/Trustees
Article 46

The Academy Trust shall have the following Trustees:

  1. up to 2 Trustees appointed by the Members (Article 50)

  2. up to 2 Trustees appointed by the Foundation (Article 50A)

  3. up to 4 Trustees appointed by the Makerfield Community Trust (Article 50AA)

  4. the 2 Principals of the Founding Schools

  5. the CEO (Article 57)

  6. a minimum of 2 Parent Trustees (elected or appointed under Articles 53-56). In the event that no Local Governing Bodies are established (Article 100A) or if no provision is made for at least 2 Parent Local Governors on each established Local Governing Body (Article 101A).

Article 47

The Academy Trust may also have up to 4 Co-opted Trustees appointed (Article 58)

Members:

Contact details:

Mr Jeremy Thomas: jthomas@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr David Thorpe: dthorpe@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Dr Jane Moor: jmoor@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mrs Aileen Wiswell MBE: awiswell@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Paul Keary: pkeary@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Trustees: 

Contact details: 

Mr Alan Birchall: abirchall@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Neil Green: ngreen@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Ms Louise Tipping: ltipping@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr David Howard: dhoward@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk​

Ms Claire Arstall: carstall@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mrs Tracy Wogan: twogan@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Kevin Liston: kliston@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Daniel Powell: dpowell@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mrs Angela Finch: afinch@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Ms Marie Collier: m.collier@wigan.gov.uk

Mr Paul Tushingham: ptushingham@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Local Governing Board 

Contact details: 

Mr Stuart Barton: stuartbarton@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Alan Birchall: abirchall@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mrs Tracey Hughes: thughes@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mrs Lois Hutton: lhutton@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Gary Limb: glimb@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mrs Joanne Shaw: jshaw@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Rev. Jeremy Thomas: jthomas@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Andrew White: awhite@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Nicholas Williams: nwilliams@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Mr Paul Barton: pbarton@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Attendance at Byrchall LGB Standards and Effectiveness Committee (September 2020 to June 2021)
Attendance at LGB and Standards and Effectiveness Cttee.png
Attendance at Trust Board and FAR Committee Meetings (September 2020 to July 2021)
Attendance Trust Board and Far Committee to July 2021.png
Accounts
  • A copy of the Academy Trust's accounts for the period ended 31st August 2020 can be downloaded here.

  • A copy of the Academy Trust's accounts for the period ended 31st August 2019 can be downloaded here.

  • A copy of the Academy Trust's accounts for the period ended 31st August 2018 can be downloaded here.

  • A copy of the Academy Trust's accounts for the period ended 31st August 2017 can be downloaded here.

  • Number of employees whose benefits are between £100K and £110K = 1

Schools Financial Benchmarking Service 
Key Documents
Makerfield Academy Trust Contact Details

The Makerfield Academy Trust is based at:

Byrchall High School

Warrington Road

Ashton-in-Makerfield

Wigan

WN4 9PQ

England

​Telephone: 01942 728221

CEO Mr A Birchall: abirchall@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Chair of Trustees: Mr P Tushinghamptushingham@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk 

Company Secretary: Mrs A Finch: afinch@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Byrchall High School Contact Details

Byrchall High School

Warrington Road

Ashton-in-Makerfield

Wigan

WN4 9PQ

England

​Telephone: 01942 728221

Headteacher: Mr A Birchall abirchall@byrchall.wigan.sch.uk

Chair of Local Governing Board: Mrs T Hughes thughes@admin.byrchall.wigan.sch.uk